Barber, Brown, Adams Take Aug. 27th Wins

August 27, 2011 at 9:27 AM

Familiar faces were in victory lane at the Holland Motorsports Complex on Saturday evening, August 27th, as Camden Barber of Bliss, NY took his sixth Holland win of the year in the Casey’s TQ Midget Series main, points leader Eric Brown of Holland scored his seventh 4-cylinder Hornet win of the season, and Jason Adams of East Aurora, NY added to his points lead with his seventh M&M U-Pull-It Figure 8 Car win of the summer.

The remaining three scheduled main events were postponed after a main electrical feed to the grandstand side of the facility shorted, eliminating power to the speedway lights from turns 3-4, along the front chute, and into turns 1-2. The National Overhead Door NASCAR Pro Modifieds, Late Models, and Bank of Holland Chargers will have their main events added to the Saturday, September 3rd program.

Shawn Nye led the Casey’s TQ Midget main early, but he was quickly joined by some fast company. Owen Bednasz and Andy Jankowiak knifed through the field and were challenging Nye for the lead by the 6th circuit, while Camden Barber joined the mix two laps later. Bednasz managed to finally slip under Nye for the top spot on the 10th go-round, and a lap later, Barber and Jankowiak raced by Nye for second and third. Barber went right to work on Bednasz, and on the 15th circuit, found room to race his Bliss Garage entry under the 15 year old Bednasz for the lead. That same lap, Jankowiak slowed and limped to the infield with mechanical issues. Once in front, Barber was in command, driving away for the win. Bednasz had another impressive showing to place second, while Nye had his best run of the season with a third place finish. Series points leader Justin Mapes just edged Jamie Collard for fourth in the caution-free event.

Bob Marzec and Lou Carbone were battling for the lead early in the 30 lap 4-cylinder Hornet main, but Eric Brown wasted no time in moving his Boston Deli/Bruce’s Automotive entry into the mix, claiming third on a lap five restart, and one circuit later, made a 2-for-1 pass on Marzec and Carbone for the lead. However, Brown was not able to hold the top slot, as two laps later, Carbone and Chris Powers went three-wide with Brown, with Powers squeezing between cars to grab the lead. Last Saturday’s winner, Samantha Lutz, raced into second a lap later, keeping Powers in her sights. However, as the race went on, Brown managed to find some additional speed, as he re-took second from Lutz on lap 20, and began to reel in Powers. It looked like Brown would have to be content with a second place finish, though, when lady luck stepped in. With the lead duo looking at the white flag, the Powers machine had something break, as his car suddenly lurched into the turn four wall. Brown was able to power underneath to take the lead once again and score the victory. Ben Russo had a strong late race run to claim second, with Lutz crossing the line in third. Tony Carbone was able to get by his cousin Lou in the late going for fourth, while Powers nursed his ailing car around the track on the final lap for a disappointing eighth place finish.

Jason Adams had his Double T Painting/Full Throttle Racing mount in the lead for all 12 laps of the M&M U-Pull-It Figure 8 Car event, but it was not an easy win, as he had consistent cross traffic at the “x” and second place Bob Marzec pressuring him throughout. Bill Lutz placed third at the checkers.

The postponements due to the power outage have set up a monster of a race program for Saturday, September 3rd. The delayed feature events for the Bank of Holland Chargers, Late Models, and the National Overhead Door NASCAR Pro Modifieds will open the program. Then regularly scheduled qualifying events will take place, with the Budweiser Championships (with double points on the line) following. Fifty lap main events for the National Overhead Door Pro Modifieds, Late Models, Bank of Holland Chargers, and 4-cylinder Hornets will be featured, along with action by the Casey’s TQ Midget Series and the M&M U-Pull-It Figure 8 Cars. Racing will get underway at 4:00 pm. Regular adult admission is $15.00 – fans in attendance at the August 27th program will be admitted on September 3rd for just $5.00 with their ticket stub from August 27th.

News and Notes

Troy Williams connections with developmental programs from south of the border are continuing as Jorge Contreras Sanchez was behind the wheel of a Williams Late Model on Saturday … great finish in the first Pro Modified qualifier, as Jeff Ruddy edged Amy Catalano by a nerf bar for the win … Congrats to Charger driver Tim Northem and Hornet racer Lou Carbone, as each picked up a first ever Holland win in qualifying action …Points battles very tight in both the Pro Modified and Charger divisions going into September 3rd, with a regular feature and a double points feature sure to shake things out – a total of 17 points separate Amy Catalano, Andy Jankowiak, and Mike Fiebelkorn, Jr. in the Pro Mod chase, while a total of 19 points differentiate Jim Loffredo, Jerry Kosmowski, Rich Carnes, Ted Welshans, and Kris Hamann in the Charger battle, with Loffredo and Kosmowski tied atop the standings.

08/27/11 Results Summary:

NASCAR National Overhead Door PRO MODIFIEDS – 30 Laps: postponed to September 3rd. Qualifying Race Winners: Jeff Ruddy, Mike Fiebelkorn, Jr.

LATE MODELS – 25 Laps: postponed to September 3rd. Qualifying Race Winners: Eldon King III, Sean Dolan.

Bank of Holland CHARGERS – 30 Laps: postponed to September 3rd. Qualifying Race Winners: Rich Carnes, Tim Northem.

Casey’s TQ MIDGET SERIES – 20 Laps: 1. CAMDEN BARBER (started 11th); 2. Owen Bednasz (6); 3. Shawn Nye (2); 4. Justin Mapes (9); 5. Jamie Collard (12); 6. Jonathan Reid (4); 7. Arik McGruder (7); 8. Eric Musto (3); 9. Kyle Hutchinson (8 ); 10. Charlie DiRosa (15); 11. Nelson Rung (1); 12. Jim Fleischman (13); 13. Rich Salvemini (14); 14. Gordon Steffan (17); 15. Andy Jankowiak (10); 16. Hayden Newcomb (16); 17. Wayne Turnbull (5). Did Not Start: Cole Smith Qualifying Race Winners: Shawn Nye, Camden Barber.

4-cyl. HORNETS – 30 Laps: 1. ERIC BROWN (started 16th); 2. Ben Russo (13); 3. Samantha Lutz (10); 4. Tony Carbone (15); 5. Lou Carbone (3); 6. Bob Marzec (1); 7. Dylan Carbone (8 ); 8. Chris Powers (12); 9. Sylvia Miszczak (11); 10. Ashley Kirchberger (14); 11. Bill Lutz (7); 12. John Blinston (4); 13. Waylon Price (17); 14. Jeff Szafraniec (9); 15. Jerry Toms (6); 16. Jack Warrior (19); 17. Ryan Hessler (18); 18. Joe Mastrocicco III (5); 19. Eric Marzec (2). Qualifying Race Winners: Lou Carbone, Tony Carbone.

M&M U-Pull-It FIGURE 8 CARS – 12 Laps: 1. JASON ADAMS (started 1st); 2. Bob Marzec (2); 3. Bill Lutz (6); 4. Mike Heitman (3); 5. Jack Warrior (5); 6. Jerry Toms (4). Did Not Start: Joe Mastrocicco III, Eric Marzec.