Holland Honors 2012 Champions at End of Season Banquet

November 07, 2012 at 2:56 PM

The Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex officially closed the books on their 53rd season of racing with the celebration of champions at the Millennium Hotel. The 2012 Champions were honored as well as their crews and sponsors for having a great 2012 racing season. Comedian Chris Wild had the crowd entertained in-between award presentations.

The 2012 Holland track titles were decided in all divisions on September 1st as second generation driver Andy Jankowiak from Tonawanda, NY would win his first Holland Getzoni Nationwide Insurance NASCAR Pro Modified Title. Eldon King III won his second straight and third overall McClurg Auto Group Late Model crown. Jim Loffredo would win his second straight Bank of Holland Charger title and third championship of his career. Jeff Szafraniec would win his first career Hornet title. Camden Barber from Bliss, NY would win his second consecutive TQ Midget title as Jason Adams from Glenwood, NY won his second straight M&M U Pull It Figure 8 car championship.

The Rookie of the Year Award is in memory of Clark Rice, a man who was vital in the beginning to make Holland what it is today. The Clark Rice Memorial Rookie of the Year was given to Tommy Catalano (Pro Modified), Corey Glover (Late Models), Jason Adams (Chargers), Donald “Butcher” Palmer (Figure 8’s) and Jennifer Termer (Hornets). The Bank of Holland presented the Most Popular Driver Award. This award was voted on by the fans each week in their souvenir racing programs. The recipients of this award were Tommy Catalano (Pro Modifieds), JD Roberts (Late Models), Rich Carnes (Chargers), Kyle Hutchinson (TQ Midgets), Butch Palmer (Figure 8’s) and Jeff Szafraniec (Hornets).

The Unsung Hero Award went to Robb Lewis; also known as “Agent 88”. Lewis was the roaming reporter this season and did a great job in his first season in that position. Special awards were also presented to the speedway officials that made Thursday night/Saturday afternoon practices running smooth and to the media for keeping everyone informed of what was going on at Holland each and every race night. The most sportsmanlike driver award was presented by McCool Paintworkz and is one of the most coveted awards to ever be received. This award was voted on by the competitors and they all said that Jennifer Termer was the most Sportsman Like driver of the 2012 season. Termer had Hornet Champion Jeff Szafraniec in her car so he could keep up in the points standings for the couple of weeks that he was without a car after crashing his primary car. The Mechanic of the Year went to Rich Hamann, father of Kris Hamann, Charger and Late Model competitor.

In the Getzoni Nationwide Insurance NASCAR Pro Modifieds, the King Motorsports crew received the Best Appearing Pit Crew Award while young driver Owen Bednasz won the Best Appearing Car Award presented by McCool Paint Workz. The Most Improved Driver Award was presented by the VSP Marketing Group and Joe Carbone was the most improved for the Pro Modifieds while Dave Catalano was the Hard Luck recipient. The premier division on the highbanks of Holland saw six different competitors seeing the checkered flag first while Champion Andy Jankowiak won on five occasions including the George Decker Memorial 100 held in mid Summer. Kirk Totten, winner of the 2011 George Decker Memorial, won the end of the season 50 lap special.

The McClurg Auto Group NASCAR Late Models (formally Late Models of Tomorrow) saw JD Roberts winning the Best Appearing Car award while Nick Crassi’s crew won the Best Appearing Pit Crew award. Mike Ticco was the Hard Luck Driver and Josh Hathaway was named Most Improved Driver. There were four different winners in the division in 2012, while Champion Eldon King III won eight times and had six victories in a row to close out the season. King would win the Budweiser 50 presented by Martin Brothers Chevrolet on Season Championship Night. Mike Ticco and Nick Crassi won the Summer Shootout 50 for the Late Models in July.

The competitive Bank of Holland Chargers saw seven different winners in victory circle. Champion Jim Loffredo won four events throughout the summer months. Zach Myers who returned to racing in 2012 after missing the entire 2011 campaign, won the Bank of Holland 50 on June 16th. Jerry Kosmowski’s crew was the best appearing throughout the season as was the car of Dave Wilson Jr. Ken Maltby, who returned to racing at Holland after a several year hiatus received the Hard Luck Award while “Crazy T” Tom Northem was the most improved driver in the division.

In the Hornet division, saw either a driver representing Dice Racing or Dagofast Racing in victory lane. Dice Racing’s Jeff Szafraniec won the divisional title behind eight victories including a streak of three in a row early in the season and then four in a row to close the books on the 2012 campaign as well as the season championship 50 lap special. The McCool racing team won the best appearing crew award while Chris Powers had the best appearing car, voted on by the officials. Samantha Lutz, who got engaged to Jeff Szafraniec in mid August, was the Hard Luck driver for the class and Louis Carbone was the most improved driver after his second full season in the division.

The M&M U Pull it Auto Parts Figure 8 division saw Jason Adams win his second straight divisional crown. Dale McCool received the Hard Luck Award while Donald “Butcher” Palmer was named Most Improved. Butcher won his first career Figure 8 event on Memorial Day weekend.

The Bennett family along with the entire staff and management of the Complex would like to thank all the drivers, crews and fans for supporting the track and wishes everyone a safe and joyous holiday season and hopes to see everyone back to the highbanks for the 2013 racing season. Look out for all the Christmas specials as well as the 2013 schedule that will be released in the upcoming weeks.

The 54th season of racing in the hills of Holland will begin with the Registration Party on Sunday March 3rd at the Holland Willows.