Big Winners at Holland Crash-A-Rama

June 11, 2012 at 1:47 PM

100_2896.jpgThe “Wildest Shows on Wheels” Carwarz Crash-A-Rama presented by M&M U Pull-It Auto Parts brought in a packed grandstand on a picturesque Saturday night in the Hills of Holland The night of destruction featured a full size School Bus Figure 8 race, the $5,000 to win Compact Enduro 100, Flag Pole Race, Boat-Trailer Race, Stock Car Roller Derby, a Front wheel drive Demolition Derby, the popular Fan Burnout Contest plus a stunt show, the first time ever visit from Megasaurus and the wacky Jet Lazyboy.

Second generation driver Andy Jankowiak from Tonawanda, NY took home top honors in the Enduro that featured 52 cars taking the starting green flag. Ben Russo, a Hornet regular at Holland was leading for awhile then it was former Holland Charger driver John Grandits took over the lead. Grandits had the lead for several circuits and got passed by current Pro Modified points leader Andy Jankowiak took over the lead on lap 21. During a red flag, Jankowiak got penalized one lap for rolling before the green flag and that gave the lead back to Grandits. However, Jankowiak passed the entire field twice including passing Grandits to pick up the win, his third win on the season on the highbanks if you count his two wins on the season for the Getzoni Nationwide Insurance NASCAR Pro Modifieds.

Eleven full size School Buses took part in the School Bus Figure 8 event with Dave Powis taking the lead from his pole position. Kevin Becker passed Powis for the lead on lap two but regained the top spot just one lap later. Powis got around lap traffic every way possible including going over the jersey barriers between the figure 8 course and the 3/8th’s mile highbanks. “Slow Joe” Joe Merlino took over the second spot on lap eight but was over a half track back of the race leader. Dave Powis led from start to finish, picking up the win in the School Bus Figure 8 race. Joe Merlino came home in second followed by Clint Riegle in the 911 tribute bus.

17 entries took part in the popular Boat-Trailer Race with “the Eckness Monster” Jason Eck and Rob Pocobello showing the way as the Holland regulars showing the invaders how to get around the highbanks. Pocobello took over the top spot on lap number four away from Eck but “the Eckness Monster” took back the lead just two laps later. Eck was able to cross the line first

“The Mad Man” Marty Hughes took the win in the 21 car field Flag Pole Race. “The Mad Man” started up front and led every single lap to pick up the popular win on his own turf. The team of Don Haskell, Don Mammoser and Dustin Wierzba won the Roller Derby event after passing the team of Jason Adams, Marty Hughes and Joe Merlino when the race was half completed and held off all challenges to pick up the win. In the front wheeled drive Demolition Derby it was Tim Haniszewski edging out his son Tim Jr and 16 other participants for the win.

The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Holland will return under the lights on Saturday June 16th as the Bank of Holland presents kids day. The annual Holland Gold Rush will be taking place as well as the Bank of Holland Chargers will be headlining the program as they will be running their first extra distance race of the season. The Getzoni Nationwide Insurance NASCAR Pro Modifieds, McClurg Auto Group Late Models, NASCAR 4 Cylinder Hornets, M&M U-Pull It Figure 8’s and the Casey’s TQ Midget Series will all be in action. Pit Gates will open at 3:30pm with grandstand gates opening at 4:45pm with Qualifying beginning at 5:00pm and NASCAR feature action will be getting started at 7:05pm.