Big Winners at Crash-A-Rama

June 11, 2013 at 12:05 PM

“The Wildest Show on Wheels” Carwarz Crash-A-Rama made its first visit of the 2013 season to the historic Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex in front of a capacity crowd on a cloudy Saturday in the Holland hills. Matthew Serafin was declared the winner in the Enduro. Jason Eck and his teammates won the Roller Derby. Clint Riegle outlasted Marty Hughes to pick up the win in the Limousine Demolition Derby Riegle was also victorious in the School Bus Figure 8 race. Holland Hornet competitor Kenny Hejna was victorious in the Flag Pole Race while Dustin Wierzba won the Boat-Trailer Race. Tyler Haniszewski defeated Cory Espinosa in the Front-Wheeled Drive Demolition Derby. Skylighters of NY brightened the Holland night sky with a gigantic Fireworks show to close out the program.

The 17th year of the program began when Chuck Rush did his death-defying stunt while riding on the hood of a stretch limo. “I have not done a stunt in a long time and I wanted to get that rush again and do it in front of the great fans of Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex” said Rush during his pre and post stunt interview.

80 cars, four wide across, 20 rows deep on the highbanks was how the Enduro began with Scott Chaplin leading the way. Early race leaders included Late Model competitor Brandon Glover, and Todd Hittle. Glover’s night ended when his right front tire disintegrated all over the speedway. John Mendolera worked his way through the pack and was scored the races leader at the halfway mark of the 65 lap affair. Mendolera was leading Matthew Serafin after the races fourth stoppage on lap 41, making the decision by Crash-A-Rama officials to make the race shortened to 65 laps due to the hour time limit. Serafin passed Mendolera on lap 45 to take over the race lead. Will Windsheimer moved up from a deep starting spot passed Mendolera for second however Mendolera passed him only moments later to retake the runner up spot. Windsheimer passed Mendolera for second for the final time on the last lap and Matt Serafin would pick up the win in the Enduro event.

The popular School Bus Figure 8 race was led to the green flag by Kevin Becker and Donald Dillenburg and Dillenburg used the traffic at the “X” to take over the race lead. Becker would get back the lead just one lap later. Clint Riegle used the “cross country route” and passed Dillenburg for second place. Becker had problems with his bus and lost the lead on lap nine, handing it to Clint Riegle. Riegle would hold off Joe Hogan to pick up the win.

Seven teams competed in the Roller Derby as the team of Doug Evans, Marty Hughes and Greg Urban were leading the Jason Eck trio but Eck went to the outside and took over the lead and the Eck trio would hold off Evans, Hughes and Urban to get the win. “Hot Hands” Kenny Hejna made the winning move on the last lap going down the back stretch to pick up the win in the Flag Pole race. Mark Myers led the way for much of the event but Hejna used the outside lane going down the back stretch to pick up the win.

The Boat-Trailer Race saw 18 entries register with 16 making the call for their feature event and it was Paul Davies leading the way early. Davies was passed by Scott Chaplin on lap two and both of the leaders got together with a couple of lap down entrants and Dustin Wierzba took command of the event. Wierzba held off Mark Emerling to pick up the win in the Boat-Trailer Race.

Eleven entries took part in the Front Wheeled Drive Demolition Derby with it coming down to the Haniszewski brothers of Tim and Tyler and Cory Espinosa. After Tim got knocked out, it was then down to Tyler Haniszewski and Espinosa and after a game of “cat and mouse”, it was Tyler Haniszewski picking up another Crash-A-Rama Demolition Derby win.

Holland returns to action next Saturday, June 15th as the Bank of Holland presents Kids Night. A full set of kids activities will be taking place such as kids rides and the annual Bank of Holland Gold Rush. The Bank of Holland NASCAR Chargers will be racing the first extra distance race of the season in a 50 lap feature affair. A full NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing program featuring the Getzoni Nationwide Insurance NASCAR Pro Modifieds, McClurg Auto Group NASCAR Late Models, Hornets, M&M U-Pull It Figure 8’s, the NYPAMA TQ Midgets and Cup Lites are also on the card. Also, the re-scheduled Faster Pastor Race will be taking place as will be the Southtowns Faster Firefighter Race. For any fans that were at the June 1st racing program, bring your rain check as it will be valid.

Pit gates will open at 3:30pm with front gates opening at 4:45 and qualifying will get underway at 5:00pm. NASCAR Racing will begin promptly at 7:05pm.