September 04, 2013 at 1:37 PM


With support from our friends at Paul Graff Trucking and NOCO Express Shops, the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex is getting ready for the Budweiser 100 for the Getzoni Agency NASCAR Pro Modifieds on Saturday evening, September 7th at the historic Southern Erie County racing oval. Fans are encouraged to stop by their local NOCO Express Shops and pick up their discounted tickets for the longest running race on the Holland schedule, the annual Bud 100. Also in competition on Saturday night will be the Bank of Holland Chargers, Hornets and the NYPAMA TQ Midgets.

The Bud 100 has been a Labor Day tradition on the highbanks ever since the track’s inception back in 1960. This event started in 1964 and up until 2010 was a Late Model race. Rick Wylie won the event seven times while Ron Williams and Art Clark each won six times throughout their legendary careers. Dick Flaig won it four times as Vern Bliss and Will Thomas won the 100 three times each. Bob Senneker won the event two times. DeVere and Mark Bliss, Shawn Dunning, Sam Fullone, Junior Hanley, Steve Hill, Todd Hoddick, Roger Kelly, Eldon King Jr, Danny Knoll, Billy Rafter, Howie Scannell, Pete Tingue and Bruce Van Dyke all have one win in this event. In 2010, the Pro Mods took center stage for the Bud 100 and it was “Super” Sege Fidanza picking up the victory. Fidanza was a “hired gun” for Kirk Rutherford.

Pit Gates will open at 3:30pm and grandstand gates will swing open at 4:45pm. Qualifying will begin at 6:00 pm and NASCAR feature racing will begin immediately following qualifying heats. Adult admission is just $16 while students (ages 8-15) are just $8. Children seven and under are ALWAYS FREE. Family Passes are also available for just $40 which includes two adults and all children 15 and under living in the same household.

Last Saturday was Season Championships on the highbanks. Kirk Totten from Barker, NY took the top honors in the 50 lap points finale for the Getzoni Agency Pro Modifieds. With his fifth place finish, George Skora III claimed the Holland track title. ”The Empire Excavator” Eldon King III from Freedom, NY claimed his seventh McClurg Auto Group Late Model feature of the season and clinched another track championship by three points. Eric Brown from Holland, NY led every lap to pick up his second Bank of Holland Chargers feature of the season. Ben Russo from Lancaster, NY claimed his fifth win of the season for the 4 Cylinder Hornets and unofficially picked up his first career track Championship. Dave Wollaber from North Tonawanda, NY picked up his sixth NYPAMA TQ Midgets feature of the 2013 campaign. Jake Lyon from Elma, NY edged out Matt Druar to pick up the victory for the Street Stocks. “Hot hands” Kenny Hejna from South Buffalo, NY picked up his first M&M U Pull It Figure 8 car feature of the season while Jason Eck was unofficially crowned divisional champion. Third generation driver Jimmy Zacharias from Candor, NY claimed the Cup Lites feature event.

The following drivers were crowned 2013 Champions: George Skora III (Pro Modifieds), Eldon King III (Late Models), Ben Russo (4 Cylinder Hornets), Shawn Nye (TQ Midgets), Jason Eck (Figure 8’s).