Holland Honors 2013 Champions

November 08, 2013 at 10:23 AM

The Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex officially closed the books on their 54th season of racing with the celebration of champions at the Millennium Hotel. The 2013 Champions were honored as well as their crews and sponsors for having a great 2013 racing season. Comedian Dan Pordum had the crowd entertained in-between award presentations.


The 2013 Holland track titles were decided in all divisions back on Labor Day weekend and it was George Skora III from Eden, NY earned his first Getzoni Agency NASCAR Pro Modified Track Championship. Skora will be representing Holland at the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Banquet held in Charlotte, NC in December. Eldon King III from Freedom, NY won his fourth McClurg Auto Group Late Models crown in the last five seasons. Alden, NY pilot Thomas Northem was crowned champion for the first time in his career for the Bank of Holland Chargers. Lancaster, NY competitor Shawn Nye won his first Holland track title for the New York/Pennsylvania Midget Association TQ Midgets (NYPAMA) while Ben Russo, also from Lancaster won his first 4 Cylinder NASCAR Hornets championship crown. Jason Eck from Buffalo, NY won his first M&M U Pull-It Figure 8 championship.


The Rookie of the Year Award is in memory of Clark Rice, a man who was vital in the beginning to make Holland what it is today. The Clark Rice Memorial Rookie of the Year was given to Josh Hill in the Figure 8’s, Michele Maltby in the Hornets and Jeff Brown in the Pro Modifieds. The Bank of Holland presented the Most Popular Driver Award. This award was voted on by the fans each week in their souvenir racing programs. The recipients of this award were Josh Hill, Jeff Szafraniec, Kyle Hutchinson, Rich Carnes, JD Roberts and Amy Catalano.

The Unsung Hero Award went to the track Chaplin at Holland Father Norb Orsolits. Father Norb has been a part of Holland since 1960 and has been a staple at the speedway ever since. Special awards were also presented to the speedway officials that kept Thursday night practices run smoothly and to the media for keeping everyone informed of what was going on at Holland each and every race night.


In the Getzoni Nationwide Insurance NASCAR Pro Modifieds, Dave Catalano was awarded the Best Appearing Car from Martin Brothers Chevrolet. George Skora’s pit crew received the Best Appearing Crew Award from Coca-Cola while Neal Dietz Jr received the F. Wardynski & Sons Hard Luck Award. Kirk Totten won the Most Improved Driver Award presented by the VSP Marketing Graphics Group. The premier division on the highbanks of Holland had five different winners picking up victories. 2013 titlist George Skora won twice but it was his top five efforts all season that lifted him to the track title. Barker, NY pilot Kirk Totten won his second consecutive George Decker Memorial 100 held in August. Totten had a total of four wins on the year. Neal Dietz Jr, Dave Catalano and Jake Vernon also picked up victories on the highbanks.


The McClurg Auto Group NASCAR Late Models division was completely dominated by three time consecutive champion Eldon King III. King won seven times in 2013 including the last five features in a row on his way to the title. Brandon Glover won on three occasions and fell short of the title by a mere three points. Good Ol’DW Dave Whittaker’s racer was the best appearing throughout the season while Brandon Glovers team received the best appearing pit crew award. Josh Hathaway received the hard luck award and JD Roberts was named Most Improved for the division.


The competitive Bank of Holland Chargers saw five different winners see winners circle. 2013 champion Thomas Northem had one victory but used very consistent finishes and heat victories to earn the track title. Dave Wilson Jr and Rich Carnes each earned three victories on the season while Eric Brown won twice. Kris Hamann also picked up a victory this past season. The 50 lap special for the division was a “Saturday Night Shootout Style” event and both Rich Carnes and Thomas Northem earned victories. Rich Carnes won best appearing car while Ken Maltby and his crew received the best appearing pit crew award. Jerry Kosmowski received the hard luck award and it was Eric Brown being named most improved for the Charger division.


The Hornet division was dominated by two teams, DagoFast Racing and Dice Racing. DagoFast Racing had three victories, all won by Chris Powers while Dice Racing had seven victories, including five by champion Ben Russo. 2012 track titlist Jeff Szafraniec added two victories on the season. Chris Powers was awarded the Best Appearing Car while Michele Maltby’s crew was awarded the best appearing pit crew award. Bill Lutz received the Hard Luck Award and Josh Hill was the most improved driver in the division.


The M&M U Pull it Auto Parts Figure 8 division saw Jason Eck won his first track championship. Eck used two victories and consistent finishes in route to the title. The division had seven different winners cross the finish line first. Eck’s pit crew was awarded the Best Appearing Pit Crew Award.

In what was one of the most exciting races of the season, the Race of Champions Modified Tour returned for the Holland 100 on July 4th weekend and at the end of the 100 lap event, second generation driver Matt Hirschman continued his hot streak on the RoC Tour to claim the 100 lap event over Andy Jankowiak and Patrick Emerling.

The Bennett family along with the entire staff and management of the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex would like to thank all the drivers, crews and fans for supporting the track and wishes everyone a safe and joyous holiday season and hopes to see everyone back to the highbanks for the 2014 racing season. Look out for all the Christmas specials as well as the 2014 schedule and rules packages for all classes that will be released in the upcoming weeks.