The History of the George Decker Memorial 100

July 28, 2014 at 4:22 PM

Ever since the year 2000, the George Decker Memorial event for the Getzoni Nationwide Insurance Agency NASCAR Pro Modifieds has been a staple on the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex schedule.

“My mother Phyllis and I put on the race in memory of my father George” stated promoter of the race Barry Decker of Decker Promotions. George was a sponsor for many years at Holland for many competitors, most notably “The Strykersville Flash” Dave Heitzhaus.

This race has grown over the years to become one of the most prestigious events in the region. “In past years, we have had as many as 36 cars competed for the Will to Win Decker Memorial Perpetual Trophy” Decker continued.

The first edition of the event was held in the year 2000 and Neal Dietz Jr picked up the checkered flag. Dietz would go on and pick up his second perpetual trophy in 2002. The early years of the race was dominated by the Neil and Neal show. Neil Hopkins picked up wins in 2001, 2003 and most recently in 2006.

In 2004, Steve Hoxie won the biggest race of his career. Hoxie held off Steve Kreitzbender for the popular win. Kreitzbender would get to raise the trophy himself in 2005 for winning the Pro Modified portion of the Memorial. The SST Series portion of the George Decker Memorial that season went to Earl Paules. Kreitzbender would win his second event in 2007 after holding off the consistent challenges from Neil Hopkins and Mike Fiebelkorn Jr.

In 2008 and 2009, Jeff Price picked up the win while Patrick Emerling won the perpetual trophy in 2010. Barker, NY pilot Kirk Totten won his first career feature event by winning the George Decker Memorial. Totten held off NYS NASCAR Champion and Holland title holder Amy Catalano, Jeff Ruddy, Neal Dietz and Mike Fiebelkorn Jr. In 2012, divisional Champion Andy Jankowiak from Tonawanda, NY took home the victory over Mike Fiebelkorn Jr, Dave Catalano, Joe Carbone and Owen Bednasz.

Last season Totten picked up his second Perpetual Trophy after crossing the finish line first in the 100 lap affair. He held off eventual track champion George Skora III, Jeff Brown, Dave Heitzhaus and 2013 NYS NASCAR Champion Jimmy Zacharias.

The race is one of the most prestigious races in the region as tonight you will see some of the best Pro Modified drivers in the region compete as well as the Holland stars that race on the highbanks weekly. The Perpetual Trophy that has all the race winners on it can be seen at the Speedway offices on 2 North Main Street.

Whose name will be etched on the Perpetual Trophy as the winner of the 2014 edition of the George Decker Memorial 100? We will all find out together at the conclusion of tonight’s racing program.